

SCHOOL OF NURSING CEREMONY



SATURDAY MAY 2, 2020 12:00 P.M.

EPIGRAM



Nursing pins have long been a special symbol of where nurses were educated. Originally called badges, the first school badge or pin was given in 1880 at the Nightingale School of Nursing at Bellevue Hospital in New York. The pin was always worn prominently on the nursing uniform and became a lasting symbol of pride for the wearer, representing the high standards of the nursing school.

Each School of Nursing's pin is unique and mirrors special characteristics of that school. The University of Portland's pin features the date 1934, the year the school was established. The elements of the pin represent:

- The Immaculate Heart of Mary through the crown, heart and letter 'M'
- The Congregation of Holy Cross through the cross
- Knowledge and learning through the open book
- The Pacific Northwest through the mountains and trees

PROGRAM

OPENING Julia P. Oishi, May 2020



INVOCATION Allison R. Hardie, May 2020



DEAN'S WELCOME

Casey R. Shillam, Ph.D., R.N. Dean and Professor, School of Nursing



KEYNOTE ADDRESS

Bonnie Clipper, D.N.P., R.N., M.A., M.B.A., C.E.N.P., F.A.C.H.E.

Chief Clinical Officer

Wambi



CLASS ADDRESS

Victor M. Rodriguez Valdovinos, May 2020 Mitchell J. Porterfield, August 2020



CLOSING

Justin D. Borden, August 2020

CLASS OF 2020

Kathryn Marie Alexander Elise Lyn Arguinchona 4,5,6 Linnea Azizie Ashkar Eveline Ann Bedard 5,6 Conner Nicholas Bejar Arroyo Perry Jayde Danielle Berk Justin Dovle Borden 5,7 Rachel Nicole Brashear Zacharie Etienne Breaux 6,7 Lindsey Miya Aolani Brown Lauren Renée Bryant Meghan Elaine Bullock Sharren Jazel Cabanatuan Benjamin Richard Carlson Kate O'Klaire Carpenter Leah Rose Carr 6 David Allen Castillo Jessica Wailee Chan Jesus Chavarría-Barrera Valerie Joy Chen 9 Karlie Catherine Chilcott 5 Julius Tan Chong Seabre Eva Church Chloe Brianne Collingwood 5 Kayla Anne Connelly Essence Avellana Contreras³ Karen Cortes-Ortiz Sadie Lyn Craig Sara Michael Cullinane 4,5,7,12 **Emily Alysa Cummins** Kim Hoàng Đặng Gillian Andreea Davidson Cody Lane Davidson Alexandra Marie DaVoulas 2,5 Elaina Marie Dav Kianni Maile Demmert Caroline Munro Devlin Joanna Huong Do Abigail Morte Dolor 4 Megan Sue Elling Amlesom Frezghi Ezaz Rachel Marie Faulds 5 Tiegan Allyn Fortes Hannah Christine Fox 3,5,7 Marissa Kianna Frazzini 5 Katie Elizabeth Gallagher Lindsey Marie Gamblin

Alexus Elisa Garcia 5 Ellona Patricia-Marie Gehman 7 Alexandra Elizabeth Gini Megan Leigh Glynn 4 Megan Mikaela Goodman Emelia Mary Grasser Keely Brianne Grealish 7 Dylan Alexander Greenhoe Cassidi Marie Grishaber Kyle Victor Guthrie Bonnie Ruth Halverson 5 Katrina Lyn Hampson 1 Madeline Jolie Hansson 5 Allison Rebecca Hardie 5 Kendra Rose Harvey Sara Marie Hermens Claire Gartlan Hodge 4 Maria Louise Holdener Heidi Danielle Hueser Maree Elizabeth Hughes 4 Samantha Christine Hull 5 Diem Huynh 5,6 Caitlyn Antoinette Igarta Alison Layne Jabusch 5 Elizabeth Jacobs 4,5,10 Elsbeth Rebekah Johnson 5 Meleah Valdine Kainu Joscelin Keller-Baker³ Danielle Kayann Knowles 5 Lauren Elizabeth Nalani Kondrat Allyson Kathleen Kowalchuk Aubrey Elizabeth LaBonte-Clark Sylvie Malak Lamharzi 5 Katherine Ann Leavy Jessica Ann Lemon 5, 10 Alysa Brynn Leonard Hanna Lee-Ann Leonard 3 Caprielle Anne Lewis

Honors and award coding

- 1. Summa cum laude
- 2. Maxima cum laude
- 3. Magna cum laude
- 4. Cum laude
- 5. Sigma Theta Tau member Omicron Upsilon Chapter
- 6. Providence Scholar
- 7. Founders'Day presenter
- 8. Dean's Award
- 9. University Scholar Award
- 10. Rising Clinician Award
- 1. Rising Scholar Award
- 12. Innovations in Nursing Award

CLASS OF 2020

Hannah S. Lewis Sarah Joyce Lewis 5,7 Henry Liang 5 Ashley Marie Lincoln 3,5 Kate Jane Linehan 5, 6, 7, 11 Molly Katherine Lundquist Phuongthao Ngoc Ly Kiana Christina Lyons Madeleine Marie Lyons⁵ Jordan Oliva Macklin Natalie Kate MacMillan 7 Lindsay Allison Maher Sophia Eleni Marckwordt Marissa Marie Martinelli Sarah Mieko Matsuura Shannon McVicar Sarah Ann Mead-Smith 5 Monica Nicole Millett 5 Bailey Elizabeth Morisak 5,7 Caroline Catherine Mull Madison Ann Murphy Megan Bridget Murphy Eliza Nadine Muyano 4 Rachel Elizabeth Nelson Kris Nguyen NgânTranh Nguyễn Caitlin Elizabeth Nichols Caroline Mary Nichols Katherine Grace Niedermeyer 2,5,6 Julia Paras Oishi Uzoamaka Obioma Okoye 6 Julianna P. Oliphant 4,6 Heidi Maryam Olyaei 6 Anita Eloisa Oman Abigail Marcelline Osborn Tisien Wawani Venice Palacio Princess Anna Lee Lucenara Palicte Ann Maureen Parry Zina Patel Maya Ciarra Phares-Rendon Rachel Ann Pilgeram ^{2,5} Lucas Gene Porter⁵ Mitchell James Porterfield⁵ Leah Anastacia Purdy⁴ Sarah Brittany Reed Emily Kathryn Rettmann 6

Lauren Ashton Reynolds

Victor Miguel Rodriguez Valdovinos 5,8 Shelby Christina Rooker⁵ Maya Adele Mavrolas Ruscoe John Earl Schmitz Katherine Morgan Seaver 4,5 Christen Edward Segerstrom Alexandra Nicole Seto 4 Leah Jayne Sichel 5 Darcy Anne Sigler Natalie C. Simpson 5 Keilene Ane Mata Sinlao Cassidy Anna-Liisa Smith 3,5,6 Courtney Jean Smith 5 Natalie Rose Smith 3,5 Christina Dilbudech Spires Soren A. Sproule 4,5 Mary Rebecca Stewart Elise Devyn Styles Rachel Yurika Tacha Jaelyn Amber Tanga 1 Divyasai Tanguturu² Zoë Elizabeth Thomas⁷ Caitlyn Irene Thompson Sophia Élan Tielman Hebner^{3,5} Alvssa Tlera Hollie Noelle Tomic 5,6 Kathy L. Truong Emma Jane Utterback Olivia Gloria Valenzuela Julia Helen Van Winckel 5,11 Brittany Nicole Vander Top Deysi Antonia Velador 5 Hevelin Vera-Morales Jeremie Gina Benedicto Viernes Anna Thuy Vu Madison Marie Wagner 3,5 Frances Josie Warszalek Jaimie Fay Whitefoot Scottie Nicole Wilkerson Michael David Williams Rachel Skye Willson Madison Woodson Julie Zavala

AWARDS

NURSING STUDENT AWARDS PRESENTED ON FOUNDERS' DAY

University Awards

University Scholar, Valerie Joy Chen, May 2020 Dean's Award, Victor Miguel Rodriguez Valdovinos, May 2020



School of Nursing Awards

Terry R. Misener Innovations in Nursing Award

Dean and Professor, School of Nursing, 1998-2007

School of Nursing faculty select students exemplifying excellence in health care innovations. The award recipients developed an innovation that transforms clinical practice and improves the health of vulnerable populations. The faculty believe that the recipients will be leaders in creating new models of care.

AWARD RECIPIENT

Sara Michael Cullinane, May 2020

Joanne R. Warner Outstanding Rising Scholar Award

Dean and Professor, School of Nursing, 2007-2015

School of Nursing faculty select students exemplifying excellence in scholarship. The award recipients demonstrated work that consistently met or exceeded the top criteria in coursework. The faculty believe that the recipients will be future scholars in the best tradition of University of Portland nurses.

AWARD RECIPIENTS

Julia Helen Van Winckel, May 2020 Kate Jane Linehan, August 2020

Patricia L. Chadwick Outstanding Rising Clinician Award

Dean, School of Nursing, 1974-1996 Dean, Graduate School, Assistant to the Provost, 1996-2000

School of Nursing faculty select students exemplifying excellence in clinical practice. The award recipients consistently performed beyond clinical expectations to provide client-centered, holistic care in the best tradition of University of Portland nurses. The faculty believe that the recipients will be extraordinary clinicians.

AWARD RECIPIENTS

Elizabeth Jacobs, May 2020 Jessica Ann Lemon, August 2020

