2021 Highlights | University of Portland

2021 Highlights

Return to In-Person Instruction

Student in a classroom following safety protocols

UP was among the first Pacific Northwest colleges and universities to announce a return to in-person instruction and on-campus work for the start of the 2021 fall semester. By requiring students, faculty and staff be vaccinated against the COVID-19 virus and comply with health and safety protocols, the University experienced no significant outbreaks of COVID-19 during the 2021 fall semester.

Acting President – Dr. Herbert A. Medina

Dr. Herbert A. Medina

The University of Portland Board of Regents announced Provost Dr. Herbert A. Medina as Acting President effective July 1, 2021, succeeding Rev. Mark L. Poorman, C.S.C. 

While Dr. Medina serves as Acting President and Provost for the 2021-22 academic year, a national search is underway to hire a permanent successor to Fr. Poorman. 

Awards & Rankings

Mike DeVaughn

University of Portland

  • UP was ranked 3rd in the Western Region in the 2022 U.S. News & World Report of Best Colleges and Universities, the 27th consecutive year the University has achieved a Top 10 placement.

Pamplin School of Business

  • Pamplin School of Business received top rankings from U.S. News & World ReportCEO Magazine, Princeton Review and Best Value Schools.
  • UP named Michael DeVaughn as Dean of the Pamplin School of Business effective July 1.

Fulbright Awards & Grants

Nicole Ralston

Faculty Awards

Tammy VanDeGrift

Virtual Commencement

Commencement logo

UP announced plans for a virtual commencement ceremony honoring the graduating Class of 2021. Sister Marilyn Lacey, R.S.M., executive director of Mercy Beyond Borders, received the University’s highest honor – the Christus Magister Medal.

Pilots Prevent

Move-in day

The weekly award-winning Helping Pilots Prevent newsletter kept UP students, faculty, staff, and parents informed about news and safety protocols to navigate the COVID-19 pandemic. Among the 2021 highlights:


Team celebration


Women's cross country individual conference champions


Megan Rapinow