2018 Opus Prize Jury | University of Portland

2018 Opus Prize Jury

photo of Opus Prize jury

The University of Portland invited 12 distinguished jurors to meet in January 2018 to select the three finalists for the 2018 Opus Prize. The Opus Prize Jury reviewed nominations submitted to the University through a confidential nomination process that began in Summer 2017. The candidates nominated for the 2018 Opus Prize are “unsung heroes” whose inspirational work combines the spirit of innovation with amazing faith, as they seek to inspire long-term, local solutions to address poverty and injustice. The nominations reflected work being done domestically and internationally.

Members of the Opus Prize Jury included leaders from Portland and Oregon’s business, non-profit, faith, civic, and media communities.

  • Mary Carlin Yates, former Special Assistant to the President, National Security Council; former U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Ghana; former U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Burundi
  • Matt Chapman, CEO of Northwest Evaluation Association; UP alumnus
  • Brian Druker, Director, OHSU Knight Cancer Institute; JELD-WEN Chair of Leukemia Research; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • Tom Greene, Provost, University of Portland
  • Dave Miller, host of Think Out Loud, Oregon Public Broadcasting
  • Nancy Monsarrat, former VP for Global Marketing at Nike, Nike Young Athletes (Kids) Division; UP alumna
  • Steve Moore, Executive Director of the M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust
  • His Honor Judge Diarmuid O’Scannlain, U.S. Circuit Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals, 9th Circuit
  • His Excellency Bishop Peter Smith, Auxiliary Bishop, Archdiocese of Portland
  • Kali Thorne Ladd, Co-founder and Executive Director of KairosPDX
  • Kay Toran, President/CEO of Volunteers of America Oregon; UP alumna
  • Rod Wendt, former CEO of JELD-WEN

Facilitator: Tom Arndorfer, President, Jesuit High School, Portland; Chair, UP Board of Regents

Opus Prize logo