Scholarships & Awards | University of Portland

Scholarships & Awards

Oddo Scholarship

Shortly after his untimely death in 1989, University of Portland President Father C. Oddo, C.S.C., was memorialized with an endowed scholarship fund. Awarded annually to one or two students who demonstrate a commitment to learning with and from others through service and community engagement grounded in their faith.

Other requirements include:

  • minimum 3.0 GPA
  • demonstrated financial need
  • upper division student in any academic major.

Nominations due March 29. 2024. Go to Oddo Scholarship to nominate a student

Hightower Scholarship

In the fall of 2009, Haiti was devastated by an unprecedented earthquake. Molly Hightower ’09 was serving with Friends of the Orphans in Port-au-Prince and was killed in a collapsed building. Molly’s passion, compassion and commitment to work for justice are her legacy. This scholarship was established in her memory and is awarded to students for whom service and community engagement is integral to their educational experience at UP as demonstrated through their on-going community involvement (on and off campus) and commitment to invite others to join them.

Eligible students are nominated by the Moreau Center and reviewed by the development and financial aid offices, with final selection by the director of financial aid. Students must show financial need with a minimum 3.0 GPA.

Kate Johnson Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service

The Kate Johnson Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service goes to honor a graduating senior who has made a significant contribution as a volunteer during their years at UP, sharing their time and talent through service and community engagement. Catherine “Kate” Johnson was a music education major at the University of Portland with hopes of being a high school band teacher before her life tragically ended. Her second love was Habitat for Humanity. Kate will always be remembered and honored on the Bluff for her selfless generosity. She embodied the best of UP, and we continue to celebrate her life through this annual award.

2002 Marie-Terese-Ryan

2003 Brooke Anderson

2004 Terry Le

2005 Katie Niemeyer

2006 Thuydung Thi Trinh

2007 Valerie Wen

2008 Michelle Emry

2009 Karen Bortvedt

2010 Jonathan Hiser and Kelsey Rea

2011 Tamara Caruso

2012 Kevin Hershey

2013 Andriana Alexis

2014 Tadeu Velloso

2015 Jaclyn Sisto

2016 Sammy Lopez

2017 Claire Kenneally

2018 Jacob Tressel

2019 Cathryn Casey

2020 Leah Carr

2021 Sam Barrett

2022 Meghan Potter

2023 William Heyler

2024 Hailey May